Gaining experience through open-source projects

Gaining experience through open-source projects

For the past few years I've been into tech, I loved doing things on my own, hoping to get a breakthrough someday. That sounds funny right?.
girl.png

I got the breakthrough earlier this year when I stumbled across a twitter space with the caption "How to get started with open-source". For the first few minutes of the session it didn't make sense to me but along the line I started to enjoy the experiences shared by the speakers. They also made emphasis on joining a community and also outlined activities that count as a contribution. It became so interesting to me so I jumped into the wagon. Since I've worked with C++, I joined a C++ community.

My open-source journey with wagtail

In the third quarter of this year I applied for outreachy and I got the call a few weeks later. When the application phase started, I scanned through the list of projects to see the one I'm best fitted for. So I joined Ersilia model hub project, an open-source initiative that helps researchers identify drugs for neglected diseases in low and middle income countries with the help of machine learning and artificial intelligence.
Though it was a nice community, I lacked the skill sets in AI and ML.
Luckily for me I saw wagtail and I loved the skill sets I wanted to test out my skills as a newbie in open-source.

WAGTAIL2.JPG

Wagtail is a great, inclusive and diverse community. The mentors are a walking encyclopedia, handling, organizing and reviewing the community's work. I also learnt some more skills that don't need coding skills, such as feedback gathering, qualitative research, management of tech platforms & CMS and technical support. Though I'm still developing it.

I want to thank Wagtail and Outreachy for giving me the opportunity to take part in open-source.

Sources